When it comes to driving in California, you should know the rules of the road before you are stuck with an annoying and expensive ticket.
Ignorance of the law does not excuse you from the law. The reason you are here is to learn about the new laws that affect every Californian and we know that you like to stay informed in order to be a law-abiding citizen. If you want to become informed and save yourself a time-wasting lecture by the police, here are a few of the new California driving laws you need to know.
Assembly Bill 53 (Child Safety Seats) – This law now requires parents to fasten children younger than two years old to their rear-facing child safety seat. That is unless they are taller than 40 inches and weigh more than 40 pounds.
Assembly Bill 1785 (Smart-Device Usage) – Motorists are now prohibited from holding their smart-devices while they drive. If you use it for GPS purposes, the device must be mounted to either the dashboard, windshield, or center console so that it does not impede your view of the road. Additionally, you can only use the device to either activate or deactivate a feature or function with one single swipe or tap.
Senate Bill 838 (Vehicle Registration Fee Increase) – Starting April 1, 2017, the vehicle registration fee on every vehicle or trailer will increase by $10 to $53.
Senate Bill 491 (Reporting Accidents) – The minimum threshold for reporting property damage used to be $750. Meaning the amount of damage done in an accident that must be reported to insurance companies. In 2017, this amount will increase by $250 to $1,000.
You need to follow the rules of the road in order to be safe at all times. One of those laws is auto insurance. You are legally required to carry the minimum amount designated by your state. Visit the team at Lou Aggetta Insurance Services, serving Pleasant Hill and neighboring cities in California today!